• Blog news,  Book Signings,  Latest Reads

    Orenda Books Roadshow Hungerford 7th March hosted by Hungerford Books

    13 Authors – 4 Events – Orenda Roadshow – Great work Karen Sullivan loves to find new debut authors, with fresh voices, who push genres in different directions, with their quirky beautiful writing, she wants goosebumps and with these authors, she has got all those things. What a great evening – 13 authors from several countries – Iceland, Finland, Germany, France, Norway and the UK – all introducing their books and then reading from them for roughly 1 minute, answering audience questions and still smiling by the end of the event. From the 13 books on offer this evening, I have read Will Carver’s – Good Samaritans and loved it,…

  • Latest Reads

    The Puppet Show #Blogtour by M. W. Craven

      Firstly I’d like to thank M.W. Craven and Beth Wright at Little Brown and Constable Publishing for the opportunity of being included on this Blog tour – it’s greatly appreciated and a real privilege when you get to read such incredible books as this to review.   He pulls their strings. He watches them burn. Welcome to the Puppet Show… A serial killer is burning people alive in the Lake District’s prehistoric stone circles. He leaves no clues and the police are helpless. When his name is found carved into the charred remains of the third victim, disgraced detective Washinton Poe is brought back from suspension and into an investigation, he wants no…

  • Blog news,  Book Signings,  Latest Reads,  Literary festivals

    Jodi Picoult – A Spark of Light Henley Literary Festival 28/10/18

    I hold my hands up – I have never read any of Jodi’s books before, (though I do have some in my ‘To Read’ pile) – but I know about them.   And this is why I wanted to see for myself, to hear what this woman is all about, in her own words. Because she has written some award-winning books.  Some controversial books and some tearfully emotional books too.  Having written 25 books of varying subject matter – ranging from the Hallowcaust and Nazi’s.  Most recently about racism in Small Great Things.  Bone Marrow transplants – and reluctant siblings in My Sisters Keeper as a friend of mine had Leukemia and…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Crime,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    Take It Back – Kia Abdullah Blog tour ​13th August 2019

    I’d like to extend my thanks to Lucy Richardson, for asking me to join this Blog tour – HQ Stories publish some amazing books and Take It Back is just one of them – Kia Abdullah has written a superb book that will make everyone that reads it think about laying the blame where they shouldnt. A thrilling, brave and explosive novel, perfect for fans of Anatomy of a Scandal and He Said/She Said. Zara Kaleel, one of London’s brightest young legal minds, shattered the expectations placed on her by her family and forged a glittering career at the Bar. All before hanging up her barrister’s wig to help the victims who needed…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    Dont Tell Teacher – Suzy K Quinn – Blog Tour 15/7/2019

    I’d like to express my thanks to Joe Thomas at HQ Stories for including me on this blog tour and inviting me to read and review the brilliantly written Don’t Tell Teacher by Suzy K Quinn. School should have been the safest place… For Lizzie Riley, switching her eight-year-old son Tom to the local academy school marks a fresh start, post-divorce. With its excellent reputation and outstanding results, Lizzie knows it’ll be a safe space away from home. But there’s something strange happening at school. Parents are forbidden from entering the grounds and inside, there are bars across the classroom windows. Why is Tom coming home exhausted, unable to remember anything about his…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    Come Back For Me – Heidi Perks

    Blog tour organised by Rachel Kennedy from Arrow Publishing – Thank you Rachel for inviting me to read and review this book – Come Back For Me. A SHOCKING DISCOVERY.A COMMUNITY WRAPPED IN SECRETS. A tiny island community is stunned by the discovery of a long-buried body. For Stella Harvey the news is doubly shocking. The body has been found in the garden of her childhood home – the home her family fled without explanation twenty-five years ago. Now, questioning her past and desperate to unearth the truth, Stella returns to the isolated island. But she quickly finds that the community she left isn’t as welcoming as she remembers –…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Crime,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    The Last Stage – Louise Voss

    From the author of the bestselling psychological thriller The Old You At the peak of her career as lead singer of a legendary 1980s indie band, Meredith Vincent was driven off the international stage by a horrific incident. Now she lives incognito in a cottage on the grounds of Minstead House, an old stately home, whilst working in the gift shop. Her past is behind her and she enjoys her new life. But a series of inexplicable and unsettling incidents have started to happen around her – broken china, vandalised gardens… And when a body is found in the gardens of Minstead House, Meredith realises that someone is watching, someone who…

  • Latest Reads

    WHEN I LOST YOU by Merilyn Davies

    A gritty, heart-stopping debut that perfectly blends psychological thriller with police procedural.    Former MET Police Crime Analyst, Merilyn Davies, has created a chilling, authentic world that will totally consume you.   WHEN I LOST YOU will enthral fans of LINE OF DUTY, Cara Hunter, Helen Fields and Fiona Barton. When a couple are the lead suspects in the murder of their only child, Thames Valley Police Crime Analyst Carla Brown and DS Nell Jackson are assigned to investigate. A terrible case, but seemingly simple to solve, as all evidence points to the parents… But something doesn’t feel right. The couple are adamant it wasn’t them, and when the father is found…

  • Latest Reads

    #You Too – Candy Denman

    I’d like to extend my thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me to join this blog tour – and by doing so, introducing me to the author – Candy Denman – Its been a pleasure to read #You Too – a thoroughly engrossing and compelling read. A partner in a successful law firm in the seaside town of Hastings dies when his penchant for erotic auto-asphyxiation apparently goes too far. The head of the Crown Prosecution Service in E Sussex is photographed drunk and undressed at a well-known dogging location. A corporate lawyer in a city finance company is found drugged and drowned in his employer s swimming pool. What…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Crime,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    Once a Liar – A.F. Brady

    My thanks to Isabel Smith of HQ Stories for inviting me on this blog tour for A.F.Brady’s second book. Cheating, lying lawyer Peter Caine is guilty of many things – but he didn’t kill socialite Charlotte Doyle. And if he wants to avoid going down for the murder, he has to find out who did. With everything on the line, Peter races to prove his innocence – and as the evidence against him mounts, hes forced to confront his own web of lies. But the truth of who killed Charlotte Doyle is more twisted than anyone could have imagined. The Author: I have been writing my whole life, and THE…

  • Latest Reads

    Someone is Lying – Jenny Blackhurst – Blog tour

    I would like to extend my thanks to Anne Cater, for as always organising an amazing blog tour for Jenny Blackhurt’s superb book published by Headline Someone is Lying carries the true Blackhurst style that we have all come to know and adore. SOMEONE IS LYING The chilling new psychological thriller from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 eBook-bestselling author of How I Lost You. Full of unexpected twists, this is perfect for fans of Friend Request, Close to Home and The Guilty Wife. It’s been a year since Erica Spencer died in a tragic accident at a party, and the community where she lived has moved on with their lives. Everybody…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    Little Darlings by Melanie Golding – Blogtour

    Firstly I need to thank Lucy Richardson of HQ Stories for inviting me to read and review Little Darlings for this blog tour – I thoroughly enjoyed the book and of course Melanie Golding for writing it. THE TWINS ARE CRYING. THE TWINS ARE HUNGRY. LAUREN IS CRYING. LAUREN IS EXHAUSTED. Behind the hospital curtain, someone is waiting . . . After a traumatic birth, Lauren is alone on the maternity ward with her newborn twins. Her husband has gone home. The nurses are doing their rounds. She can’t stop thinking about every danger her babies now face. But all new mothers think like that. Don’t they? A terrifying encounter…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    Breakers – Doug Johnstone

    My thanks to Anne Cater and Orenda Books for including me on this #Blogtour for BREAKERS by Doug Johnstone. A pulsatingly tense, deeply moving psychological thriller from the Number One BESTSELLING Scottish author of Fault Lines A toxic family, a fight for survival…Seventeen-year-old Tyler lives in one of Edinburgh’s most deprived areas. Coerced into robbing rich people’s homes by his bullying older siblings, he’s also trying to care for his little sister and his drug-addict mum.On a job, his brother Barry stabs a homeowner and leaves her for dead, but that’s just the beginning of their nightmare, because the woman is the wife of Edinburgh’s biggest crime lord, Deke Holt.With the…