Blog Tour Read,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

After Sundown – Various Authors

My thanks to Anne Cater, for inviting me to join this blog tour for After Sundown – a superb collection of original short stories publsied by Flame Tree Press, out now.

This new anthology contains 20 original horror stories, 16 of which have been commissioned from some of the top names in the genre, and 4 of which have been selected from the 100s of stories sent to Flame Tree during a 2- week open submissions window. It is the first of what will hopefully become an annual, non-themed horror anthology of entirely original stories, showcasing the very best short fiction that the genre has to offer.

Bringing together some of the best writers in the genre right now and 4 debuts who applied via submission to Flame Tree Press, with their stories hoping to make the grade, which they did. It’s hard to actually tell which stories are by who, if you didn’t know the authors you would struggle to tell who’s was who, the calibre of the stories is that good.

I have to say what a pleasure its been to read these short stories. That have ranged from old sea side folk tales to more modern day Misery-esque dramas and fantastical horror stories. A true mix of authors and genres that will keep you on your toes and turning pages andleave you wanting more.

Perfect spooky stories for this time of year, when the more macabre tales strive to be told and should really be rejoiced at any time of the year, not just because it’s Halloween. The world isn’t all lovely and fluffy and some of us thrive and find a joy in horror and thrilling tales that scare the bejesus out of us. Dive on in folks and enjoy these stories, the beauty of 20 authors and of them being short stories is that you can dip in and out, if time is tight, perfect for commutes. A story or two before bed for a few nights or just struggling to concentrate now with the world as it is.

List of Authors and short story titles –


RESEARCH by Tim Lebbon

SWANSKIN by Alison Littlewood


GAVE by Michael Bailey

WHEREVER YOU LOOK by Ramsey Campbell

SAME TIME NEXT YEAR by Angela Slatter

MINE SEVEN by Elana Gomel

IT DOESN’T FEEL RIGHT by Michael Marshall Smith

CREEPING IVY by Laura Purcell


WE ALL COME HOME by Simon Bestwick


BOKEH by Thana Niveau

MURDER BOARD by Grady Hendrix


THE MIRROR HOUSE by Jonathan Robbins Leon

THE NAUGHTY STEP by Stephen Volk

A HOTEL IN GERMANY by Catriona Ward

BRANCH LINE by Paul Finch 

I definitely have a couple of favourites from this collection dn I know you will find some too, the mix is so good and brought together so well I honestly think this is a book for everyone to read.

Mark Morris (editor) has written and edited almost forty novels, novellas, short story collections and anthologies. His script work includes audio dramas for Doctor Who, Jago & Litefoot and the Hammer Chillers series. His recent work includes the official movie tie-in novelizations of The Great Wall and (co-written with Christopher Golden) The Predator, the Obsidian Heart trilogy (The Wolves of London, The Society of Blood and The Wraiths of War), the anthologies New Fears (winner of the British Fantasy Award for Best Anthology) and New Fears 2 as editor, a new audio adaptation of the classic 1971 horror movie Blood on Satan’s Claw, for which he won the New York Festival Radio Award for Best Drama Special, and a new audio adaptation of the M.R. James ghost story A View From a Hill, for which he won his second New York Festival Radio Award, for Best Digital Drama Program, and which has also been nominated for an ARIA (Audio & Radio Industry Award).

To purchase – After Sundown

Please follow the rest of the tour and reviews and bloggers, its how we gain readers and inspire others to review too.

FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launched in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.

@annecater @flametreepress @MarkMorris10


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *