• Latest Reads

    A Room Made of Leaves – Kate Grenville – Blog Tour Read

    This beautifully wrought novel, from the author of The Secret River, tells a story of passion and resilience, giving voice to a woman silenced by history. It is 1788. Twenty-one-year-old Elizabeth is hungry for life but, as the ward of a Devon clergyman, knows she has few prospects. When proud, scarred soldier John Macarthur promises her the earth one midsummer’s night, she believes him.  But Elizabeth soon realises she has made a terrible mistake. Her new husband is reckless, tormented, driven by some dark rage at the world. He tells her he is to take up a position as Lieutenant in a New South Wales penal colony and she has no…

  • Latest Reads

    Ash Mountain – Helen Fitzgerald – Blog tour Read

    My sincere thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me to join this second blog blitz paperback tour for Ash Mountain by Helen FitzGerald. Published by Orenda Books – I got a copy of this back in February at the Orenda Roadshow on a very wet Friday in Penarth, Wales. Where Karen Sullivan took a merry bunch of her authors on tour around the country and showcased their talents and books alike. Fran hates her hometown, and she thought she’d escaped. But her father is ill, and needs care. Her relationship is over, and she hates her dead-end job in the city, anyway. She returns home to nurse her dying father,…

  • Latest Reads

    The Big Chill – Doug Johnstone – Blog tour read

    Once again, I must thank Anne Cater for organising this blog tour. For The Big Chill by Doug Johnstone, the second book in the lives of the Skelf’s sagas. Published by Orenda Books 20th August 2020. Haunted by their past, the Skelf women are hoping for a quieter life. But running both a funeral directors’ and a private investigation business means trouble is never far away, and when a car crashes into the open grave at a funeral Dorothy is conducting, she can’t help looking into the dead driver’s shadowy life. While Dorothy uncovers a dark truth at the heartof Edinburgh society, her daughter Jenny and granddaughter Hannah have their…

  • Latest Reads

    The Lies You Told – Harriet Tyce – Blog Tour Read

    My thanks to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers. I shouted a lot, about Harriet’s previous book, Blood Orange, so I am delighted to review The Lies You Told – Harriet Tyce’s second book, published by Wildfire Books on 20th August. Shocking, dark, addictive – THE LIES YOU TOLD is the compulsive new psychological thriller from Harriet Tyce, author of Sunday Times bestseller and Richard and Judy book club thriller BLOOD ORANGE. Perfect for fans of APPLE TREE YARD, BIG LITTLE LIES, and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL Has she left her child in the care of a killer? Sadie has moved back to London so her daughter can attend the exclusive school her domineering mother has secured her a place at. It’s…

  • Latest Reads

    Shed No tears – Caz Frear – Blog Tour Read

    My thanks once again to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for inviting me to join the blog tour for Shed No Tears – by Caz Frear, published by Zaffre Books. Four victims.Killer caught.Case closed . . . Or is it?  Christopher Masters, known as ‘The Roommate Killer’, strangled three women over a two-week period in a London house in November 2012. Holly Kemp, his fourth victim, was never found. Until now. Her remains have been unearthed in a field in Cambridgeshire and DC Cat Kinsella and the major investigation team are called in, but immediately there are questions surrounding the manner of her death. And with Masters now dead, no…

  • Latest Reads

    The Minders – John Marrs Blog tour review

    My thanks to Isabelle Ralphs for sending an e-copy of the book. This John Marrs novel – The Minders is a step into the future of how life could be – and given what’s happening right now, who knows what could happen in 30 years time. In the 21st century, information is king. But computers can be hacked and files can be broken into – so a unique government initiative has been born. Five ordinary people have been selected to become Minders –the latest weapon in thwarting cyberterrorism. Transformed by a revolutionary medical procedure, the country’s most classified information has been taken offline and turned into genetic code implanted inside their heads. Together,…

  • Latest Reads

    Hinton Hollow Death Trip – Will Carver – blog tour review

    Again, I have to thank Anne Cater for her amazing blog organiser skills for inviting so many of us to review Will Carver’s new book, Hinton Hollow Death Trip, published by Orenda Books on 13th August 2020. The Blurb It’s a small story. A small town with small lives that you would never have heard about if none of this had happened.Hinton Hollow. Population 5,120.Little Henry Wallace was eight years old and one hundred miles from home before anyone talked to him. His mother placed him on a train with a label around his neck, asking for him to be kept safe for a week, kept away from Hinton Hollow.Because…

  • Latest Reads

    playdate – Alex Dahl Blog Tour Read

    I’d like to thank Helen Richardson of Head of Zeus, for inviting me to read playdate written by Alex Dahl for this blog tour – its been a real rollercoaster, not only as a parent but as a reader. Gripping, dark and fresh, PLAYDATE is  the latest thriller from the CWA dagger-shortlisted author of THE BOY AT THE DOOR and THE HEART KEEPER.   Have you seen Lucia Blix? Lucia went home from school for a playdate with her new friend Josie. Later that evening, Lucia’s mother Elisa dropped her overnight things round and kissed her little girl goodnight. That was the last time she saw her daughter. The next morning, when Lucia’s dad arrived to pick her…

  • Latest Reads

    The Last Wife – Karen Hamilton Blog Tour Read

    I’d like to extend my thanks to Justine Shar. Publishers by Wildfire Books an imprint of Headline Books for inviting me to join this blog tour for The Last Wife by Karen Hamilton. In Karen Hamilton’s shocking thriller, THE LAST WIFE Marie Langham is distraught when her childhood friend, Nina, is diagnosed with a terminal illness. Before Nina passes away, she asks Marie to look out for her family—her son, daughter, and husband, Stuart. Marie would do anything for Nina, so of course, she agrees.  Following Nina’s death, Marie gradually finds herself drawn into her friend’s life—her family, her large house in the countryside. But when Camilla, a mutual friend…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Crime,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    All Fall Down –

    My thanks to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers, for inviting me to read for this blog tour. All Fall Down by MJ Arlidge, published by Orion on 11th one 2020. “You have one hour to live.” Those are the only words on the phone call. Then they hang up. Surely, a prank? A mistake? A wrong number? Anything but the chilling truth… That someone is watching, waiting, working to take your life in one hour. But why? The job of finding out falls to DI Helen Grace: a woman with a track record in hunting killers. However, this is A case where the killer seems to always be one step…