• Blog Tour Read,  Crime,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    Under Your Skin – Rose McClelland – Blog Tour Read

    My thanks to Emma Welton of damppebbles blog tours for inviting me to join the tour for Under you Skin by Rose McClelland. Where is Hannah? When Kyle’s wife Hannah goes missing, the whole town is out in force to try to find her. One person knows where she is. One person is keeping a secret. Detective Inspector Simon Peters and Detective Kerry Lawlor have been brought in to investigate the case, but Hannah has left no traces and Kyle has no clues. Local Belfast resident Julia Matthews joins the #FindHannah campaign and becomes friendly with Kyle, sympathising with his tragedy. As Julia becomes more involved in the case than…

  • Blog Tour Read,  Latest Reads,  Thriller

    Truth Be Told – Kia Abdullah HQ – Blog Tour Read

    My thanks to Sian Baldwin of HQ at Harper Collins for including me on this blog tour. I loved Kia Abdullah’s previous book and Truth be Told has not disappointed. Kamran Hadid feels invincible. He attends Hampton school, an elite all-boys boarding school in London, he comes from a wealthy family, and he has a place at Oxford next year. The world is at his feet. And then a night of revelry leads to a drunken encounter and he must ask himself a horrific question. With the help of assault counselor, Zara Kaleel, Kamran reports the incident in the hopes that will be the end of it. But it’s only…

  • Latest Reads

    The Last To Know by Jo Furniss – Blog tour read

    My thanks again to Anne Cater, for organising this blog tour for Jo Furniss’s The Last To Know, published on 25th August by Lake Union Publishing. Please follow the rest of the blog tour, lots of reviews and bloggers still to read. A family’s past pursues them like a shadow in this riveting and emotional novel of psychological suspense by the Amazon Charts bestselling author of All the Little Children. American journalist Rose Kynaston has just relocated to the childhood home of her husband, Dylan, in the English village of his youth. There’s a lot for Rose to get used to in Hurtwood. Like the family’s crumbling mansion, inhabited by Dylan’s…

  • Latest Reads

    A Room Made of Leaves – Kate Grenville – Blog Tour Read

    This beautifully wrought novel, from the author of The Secret River, tells a story of passion and resilience, giving voice to a woman silenced by history. It is 1788. Twenty-one-year-old Elizabeth is hungry for life but, as the ward of a Devon clergyman, knows she has few prospects. When proud, scarred soldier John Macarthur promises her the earth one midsummer’s night, she believes him.  But Elizabeth soon realises she has made a terrible mistake. Her new husband is reckless, tormented, driven by some dark rage at the world. He tells her he is to take up a position as Lieutenant in a New South Wales penal colony and she has no…

  • Latest Reads

    Ash Mountain – Helen Fitzgerald – Blog tour Read

    My sincere thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me to join this second blog blitz paperback tour for Ash Mountain by Helen FitzGerald. Published by Orenda Books – I got a copy of this back in February at the Orenda Roadshow on a very wet Friday in Penarth, Wales. Where Karen Sullivan took a merry bunch of her authors on tour around the country and showcased their talents and books alike. Fran hates her hometown, and she thought she’d escaped. But her father is ill, and needs care. Her relationship is over, and she hates her dead-end job in the city, anyway. She returns home to nurse her dying father,…

  • Latest Reads

    The Big Chill – Doug Johnstone – Blog tour read

    Once again, I must thank Anne Cater for organising this blog tour. For The Big Chill by Doug Johnstone, the second book in the lives of the Skelf’s sagas. Published by Orenda Books 20th August 2020. Haunted by their past, the Skelf women are hoping for a quieter life. But running both a funeral directors’ and a private investigation business means trouble is never far away, and when a car crashes into the open grave at a funeral Dorothy is conducting, she can’t help looking into the dead driver’s shadowy life. While Dorothy uncovers a dark truth at the heartof Edinburgh society, her daughter Jenny and granddaughter Hannah have their…

  • Latest Reads

    The Lies You Told – Harriet Tyce – Blog Tour Read

    My thanks to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers. I shouted a lot, about Harriet’s previous book, Blood Orange, so I am delighted to review The Lies You Told – Harriet Tyce’s second book, published by Wildfire Books on 20th August. Shocking, dark, addictive – THE LIES YOU TOLD is the compulsive new psychological thriller from Harriet Tyce, author of Sunday Times bestseller and Richard and Judy book club thriller BLOOD ORANGE. Perfect for fans of APPLE TREE YARD, BIG LITTLE LIES, and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL Has she left her child in the care of a killer? Sadie has moved back to London so her daughter can attend the exclusive school her domineering mother has secured her a place at. It’s…

  • Latest Reads

    Shed No tears – Caz Frear – Blog Tour Read

    My thanks once again to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for inviting me to join the blog tour for Shed No Tears – by Caz Frear, published by Zaffre Books. Four victims.Killer caught.Case closed . . . Or is it?  Christopher Masters, known as ‘The Roommate Killer’, strangled three women over a two-week period in a London house in November 2012. Holly Kemp, his fourth victim, was never found. Until now. Her remains have been unearthed in a field in Cambridgeshire and DC Cat Kinsella and the major investigation team are called in, but immediately there are questions surrounding the manner of her death. And with Masters now dead, no…

  • Latest Reads

    The Minders – John Marrs Blog tour review

    My thanks to Isabelle Ralphs for sending an e-copy of the book. This John Marrs novel – The Minders is a step into the future of how life could be – and given what’s happening right now, who knows what could happen in 30 years time. In the 21st century, information is king. But computers can be hacked and files can be broken into – so a unique government initiative has been born. Five ordinary people have been selected to become Minders –the latest weapon in thwarting cyberterrorism. Transformed by a revolutionary medical procedure, the country’s most classified information has been taken offline and turned into genetic code implanted inside their heads. Together,…

  • Latest Reads

    Hinton Hollow Death Trip – Will Carver – blog tour review

    Again, I have to thank Anne Cater for her amazing blog organiser skills for inviting so many of us to review Will Carver’s new book, Hinton Hollow Death Trip, published by Orenda Books on 13th August 2020. The Blurb It’s a small story. A small town with small lives that you would never have heard about if none of this had happened.Hinton Hollow. Population 5,120.Little Henry Wallace was eight years old and one hundred miles from home before anyone talked to him. His mother placed him on a train with a label around his neck, asking for him to be kept safe for a week, kept away from Hinton Hollow.Because…