Latest Reads

TAINTED – By David Evans #Blogtour

My great thanks to Caroline Vincent of Bits About Books, again for including me on this 4th part of David Evan’s Blog Tour. And of course David, these books are well written and thought out. A pleasure to read.

TAINTED The Wakefield Series #4 DAVID EVANS 

A botched attempt to extort money has tragic consequences. 

An embarrassing DNA match to an unsolved rape and murder twenty years before means DI Colin Strong has to use his best diplomatic tactics. 

Simultaneously, journalist Bob Souter is tasked with writing about that same case to re-focus public attention. Will the newspaper’s actions help or hinder the police? 

Meanwhile, Strong’s team has two separate murder enquiries to run. 

With their friendship under duress, will Souter and Strong be able to work together? Find out in TAINTED – book 4 in the acclaimed Wakefield Series! 

Buy TAINTED on Amazon:

The Wakefield Series 





About The author – David Evans

David ate one of his book signings

David Evans is a Scots-born writer who found his true love as well as his inspiration for his detective series, in Wakefield. Having written all his life, in 2012 he decided to go for it – successfully as the next year, in 2013, he was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award. 

The Wakefield Series became an International Bestseller in June 2017 with success in Canada and Australia as well as the UK. 

Early 2018 Disposal was published, the first book in the Tendring Series, a new detective series, set in north Essex in the 1970s. 

Now, the first three books in the Wakefield series have been republished by Orchard View Publications with brand new covers – Orchard View Publications also publishes the fourth book in the series, TAINTED.

My Review

It was great to be back in Wakefield reading about DI Colin Strong, Kelly Stainmore and Colin’s friend Bob Souter – a journalist at The Yorkshire Post with characters Susan and Sammy helping him out. They are well-written characters and have developed into themselves. I have the added knowledge of having read Book 1 – Trophies – but I think you’d be fine to read these out of order or even as a stand-alone novel. As the characters are explained well – who they are what they do and as the story develops you’ll soon relax into the ways of the Wakefield series.

All knowing their own strengths and going with their instincts is something they seem to excel at, espically Strong, who as the head of the Police team into two seperate investigations in this book, he has to be on the ball.

Tainted finds Strong investigating a body found in a toilet block, late at night – witnesses and hearsay suggest it could be a homophobic attack, but Strong thinks otherwise. At the same time, another body is found in a bin and this creates a new set of who and why for the team.

Of course, David Evans writing style doesn’t leave it at just 2 bodies, his background stories are strongly backed up with police procedural information that all has to tie in. There’s also a kidnapping that causes problems for those involved but weaves into the plot seamlessly and pushes the characters skills to the max.

Meanwhile, Colin’s friend Bob Souter is investigating a cold case – Claire Hobson, a 14-year-old who disappeared one night on the way home 20 years ago. He’s hoping that the 20-year gap will lead to fresh evidence in the case coming to light, that he can report on. But he also happens to be on the scene as the ‘body in the bin’ is discovered, as him and Susan have been to interview Claire’s parents.

However, for Colin Strong something crops up in his own department – when DNA from a newly recruited PC is called into question regarding the Claire Hobson case. How will he find answers and be discreet…..

How David Evans manages to think of these fantastic storylines, to create such plausible twists, with background and characters to boot is beyond me. But I enjoyed his books immensely. A strong 4.5 from me this time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *