Latest Reads

The Long Weekend – Gillian Macmillian

My thanks to Isabelle Ralphs at Penguin Random House Uk for letting me be part of this blog tour and read The Long Weekend by Gilly Macmillian.

Sunday Times bestselling author Gilly Macmillan’s latest thriller is a compulsive story of a weekend getaway which spirals out of control. Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley’s The Hunting Party and Ruth Ware’s In A Dark Dark Wood.

By the time you read this, I’ll have killed one of your husbands.

Their husbands will be joining them in the morning. Or so they think.

In an isolated retreat, deep in the Northumbria moors, three women arrive for a

weekend getaway.

But when they get to Dark Fell Barn, the women find a devastating note that claims one

of their husbands has been murdered. Their phones are out of range. There’s no

internet. They’re stranded. And a storm’s coming in.

Friendships fracture and the situation spins out of control as each wife tries to find out

what’s going on, who is responsible and which husband has been targeted.

This was a tight-knit group. They’ve survived a lot. But they won’t weather this. Because

someone has decided that enough is enough.

Fast paced and incredibly compelling’ Shari Lapena 

‘White-knuckled suspense’ Tess Gerritsen

‘Infused with a creeping sense of dread’ Sarah Vaughan 

‘Dark, tense and very clever’ Claire Douglas

‘Bold, suspenseful and impossible to put down’ Samantha Downing

‘Brilliantly plotted, clearly defined characters and perfectly paced. I loved this book.’ Liz Nugent

Our Author – Gilly Macmillian

Gilly Macmillan is the New York Times bestselling and Edgar-nominated author

of What She Knew, The Perfect Girl Odd Child OutThe Nanny and To Tell You The Truth.

She grew up in Swindon and studied at Bristol University and The Courtauld Institute of

Art in London. She has worked at The Burlington Magazine and the Hayward Gallery and

has been a lecturer in photography. She now writes full-time and lives in Bristol.

My Review – The Long Weekend

Who wouldn’t love to get away from the weekend? A break in the country sounds lovely. But when Ruth, Jayne and Emily head off to Dark Fell Barn in Northumberland, a remote barn and the weather changes, no-one is enjoying the turn of events that happens once they arrive.

The story is told from the point of view of the characters, and theres a fair few to keep up with. the main one being Ruth, Jayne and Emily though, with their husbands – Mark, Toby and Paul. But also Edie and Imogen. Edie and her husband Rob used to be friends with the others, until Rob died. And now it’s just her and Imogen, their daughter. She didn’t want to go away on the weekend, but she also doesn’t want the others to enjoy it. The boys and Edie are old school friends, well Paul was their rugby coach and Edie’s parents taught at the school too.

Emily is the reluctant one of the bunch, being the late comer to the group, she’s younger and finds it hard, with the in jokes and knowing they have a shared history she finds in hard to fit in. But to keep the peace and Paul happy she goes along. As soon as the three women arrive at the barn, escorted by the Farmer who owns it, John Elliott. They know it was a mistake going. No phone reception, the husbands are due to arrive the next day. And when then find a package left by Edie, is when it all really starts to break down.

Superbly atmospheric, scene setting, dark and thrilling, what ever you think might happen, won’t. Gillian Macmillan builds tension using the characters, whose combined lives can’t help but thrust the story along. Which all adds to the story and pulls the reader in.

To purchase The Long Weekend https://www.amazon.com/Long-Weekend-Novel-Gilly-Macmillan-ebook/dp/B0983LK135/ref=mp_s_a_1_2?crid=3QYA3E97F14UZ&keywords=gilly+macmillan&qid=1643824403&sprefix=gilly%2Caps%2C258&sr=8-2

#TheLongWeekend @GillyMacmillian @CenturyBooksUk

Please follow the rest of the blog tour for this suspense filled thriller.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.