Latest Reads

Trophies – by David Evans

The Wakefield Series – 3 Book Blog Tour 

Firstly I’d just like to thank – Catherine Vincent – Bits About Books – @CarolineBookBit for asking me to be part of this Book Blog Tour.  It’s been an absolute pleasure to read #TROPHIES

The Wakefield Series Book 1 – Trophies

From the CWA Debut Dagger Shortlisted Novelist comes an extraordinary crime novel that everyone is raving about. 

When DI Colin Strong interviews a suspect on suspicion of handling stolen goods he’s convinced he’s heard their voice before. Nearly 25 years ago the tape of Wearside Jack taunted West Yorkshire Police and his suspect fits the profile. 

Then the body of a known burglar shows up and a mysterious metal case is discovered at the scene. 

Strong turns to his close friend, journalist Bob Souter, and embarks on an awkward alliance to probe areas he is unable to explore. 

As the murder suspects start to disappear Strong must discover just who the shadowy figure inciting fear and panic amongst those he encounters is. 

Strong wants to bring a murderer to justice and Souter is hungry for a story. 

Who will get to the truth first and can their friendship remain intact?

David Evans – Author Biography

Is a Scots-born writer who found his true love as well as his inspiration for his detective series, in Wakefield. Having written all his life, in 2012 he decided to go for it – successfully as the next year, in 2013, he was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

The Wakefield Series became an International Bestseller in June 2017 with success in Canada and Australia as well as the UK. 

Early 2018 Disposal was published, the first book in the Tendring Series, a new detective series, set in north Essex in the 1970s. 

Now, whilst awaiting the fourth book in the Wakefield Series (coming early 2019), the first three books in the Wakefield series have been republished by Orchard View Publications with brand new covers.

The Wakefield Series: 

#1 Trophies #2 Torment #3 Talisman #4 Tainted – coming 2019

Universal Amazon Buying Link:

My thoughts on TROPHIES ………….

I read the blurb and thought, oh, actually this looks good.  I started reading and I was pleasantly surprised.   The storyline is good, anyone who likes Police procedural will enjoy this book and the follow-ups.  David writes clearly about the main characters, their background and how they are connected to the story and gives the timelines on DI Colin Strong and journalist Bob Souter.  The chapters weave in and out of each other in a seamless manner.  A great point to add that deepens the otherwise classic whodunnit storyline is that every now and again the killer’s chapters crop up and these are the ones that make the book that bit more interesting, as you almost read them through their eyes.  A great twist at the end that keeps the pages turning.   A definate 3.5 * from me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *